Relax - Explore - Repeat

Guest Reviews

  • It was so lovely to stay in Penny after hearing about all the blood, sweat and tears to get her looking so beautiful. We've had a wonderful time, just what we needed after a difficult year. Thank you so much Jaine and Dave xxx

    — Wendy, George, Katie & Ted, 03 Jan 2019
  • Back again! Really enjoyed our pre- Christmas break. Penny Black was as welcoming and cozy as ever. Off to see the Flying Scotsman.

    — Michael, James & Heidi, 22 Dec 2018
  • Lovely cottage with everything you could want and more! A great base to visit friends& family, we will be back.

    — Diane, Peter & Dogs - Evesham, 06 Dec 2018
  • Lovely and well cared for cottage, perfect for cosy nights after tiring the dog out on Pen-y-gent, wonderful warming fire.

    — Joe & Alicia, 25 Nov 2018
  • Great stay, would happily spend another week here exploring further. Blessed with good weather, the tackled the three peaks - one at a time! The cottage is brilliant. Immaculately clean, better kitted out than home and every eventuality catered. Thanks for a truly lovely stay Jaine & thanks to Margo for welcome pack!

    — Catherine & Ivor - Nantwich, 04 Nov 2018
  • My wife and I had such a great time at Penny Black for our first wedding anniversary. The cottage is cosy and we loved Ingleton and Kirkby Lonsdale. I would really recommend La Tavernetta and La Cascada restaurants in Ingleton and the Waterfalls Trail and White Scar Caves!

    — Jack & Jenny, 29 Oct 2018
  • The Dales; bleak, rough. spectacular and LOVELY. Penny Black; more than LOVELY. A charming place. We felt at home immediately. And the Dales are wonderful. We'll come back! DANKE! :)

    TripAdvisor Review:
    Ingleton Falls Trail: wonderful, Ribblehead Viaduct + Whernside: spectecular, Dent: lovely village, impressive, Dentdale + Deepdale: spektakuläre Fahrt mit Gefälle im zweistelligen Bereich, rough and bleak, Sedburgh: wonderful book and school village. Penny Black: lovely, super ausgestattet, dog friendly, nice garden, private parking, welcome basket so nice, in der Nähe der A65, aber nicht wirklich störend, Cottage ist ideal für zwei Personen + Hund. Wir werden wiederkommen.

    — Ludger, Claire & Emil - Germany, 25 Oct 2018
  • We had a lovely few days in your beautiful cottage, comfortable, cosy. Jaine, you have thought of everything we could have wished for. The weather was also kind to us. Thank you once again.

    — Margaret & Graham - Lancashire, 18 Oct 2018
  • We had a lovely time at Penny. The weather was poor on Friday so we lit the fire and chilled out, very cosy, the cottage is fabulous, has everything you need, welcome pack was amazing, thank you Jaine x

    — Jeanette & Michael - Halifax, 15 Oct 2018
  • It was a darling haven complete with cozy fireplace + gracious hosts who awaited our late arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed our cottage in the country! It was our retreat as we travelled the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District & over to Scotland. It was magically stocked with all that was needed. The welcome basket was amazingly perfect! We cannot thank you enough for the little details that were an outstanding touch to a perfect cozy cottage.
    Instagram review:
    Seriously. This was hands-down the best place we stayed in Europe! If you are anywhere near the North of England, you need to stay at the charmingest location at the gateway to the Yorkshire Dales.

    — Zena & Lara - USA, 10 Oct 2018
  • Lovely cottage and great weekend celebrating my 40th. Amazing surprise away :)

    — Gill & Mish - Edinburgh, 01 Oct 2018
  • Loved the cottage - it was cosy and had everything we needed. Thank you for the wonderful welcome pack and Zak says thank you for his treats.

    — Caroline, Bill & Zak - Glasgow, 24 Sep 2018
  • Loved everything. Will come again next years for longer. Tx

    — Dawn & Mike - Grimsby, 21 Sep 2018
  • Liz - What can I say. Fantastic cottage, Jaine and husband are top hosts. Lovely welcome basket & Yorkshire Tea :) !! Very well kept and very, very clean. Lovely area, can't wait to return next summer. Thank you again for a brilliant stay x
    Gareth - Perfect cottage, can't fault anything. Must recommend a visit to Ingleton Waterfall Trail and Ribblehead Viaduct. Liz brought me here for my birthday. Best present I've had!

    — Liz, Gareth, Jess & Daisy - Stoke, 10 Sep 2018
  • Penny is a little gem! We are returning - 2nd stay already booked.

    — Lucie, Colin & Heidi - Yorkshire, 07 Sep 2018
  • Had an amazing stay in your beautiful cottage. Sad to say goodbye. Fantastic host and some lovely touches! x

    — Hannah & Paul - London, 02 Sep 2018
  • Airbnb Review:
    Penny is a fantastic little cottage, with such style and is so inviting to snuggle up on the sofa with the log burner on. The cottage has been decorated sympathetically and tastefully, with you not wanting for anything. Jaine left a wonderful welcome hamper which even included some treats for our Labrador Archie. I would recommend this cottage to anyone, it is in a great location to explore the area.

    — Isabel, Tom & Archie, 28 Aug 2018
  • It is a beautiful cottage, everything is beautifully furnished with kindness and care. It has been a lovely week, thankyou very much. Hope to come again.

    — Michelle & Michael - Bristol, 23 Aug 2018
  • We had an amazing time! This cottage is adorable & the welcome pack was lovely! Thank you so much, we've had a lovely Babymoon!

    — John, Helen, Harvey & Bump!, 19 Aug 2018
  • Penny Black Cottage is unreal! It has been furnished and setup to a fantastic standard. Everything is just perfect and feels like home from the moment you open the door. The place was sparkling clean too which was amazing! If you are reading this, just book your time away asap, you wont be disappointed!

    — Simon, Helen and Max, 12 Aug 2018
  • Nice cottage very generous welcome pack, ideal location for ingleton falls and surrounding areas. Will stay again.

    — Johnathan, Sammi & Alan, 05 Aug 2018
  • Penny Black is wonderful! I had a great time reading in the garden and exploring the surrounding area. The cottage was spotless and very well maintained. Next time I’ll make sure to rent a car so I can explore a bit further into the the National Parks in the area :)

    — Kerstin - Canada, 01 Aug 2018
  • Penny Black is an absolutely gorgeous little cottage. We stayed there before and after doing the three peaks walk and it has all the comforts that you would after a long hike - comfy bed, big bathtub and giant fluffy towels. Jaine was an excellent host - she communicated well, check in was easy and we arrived to find a lovely basket of food and refreshments which had been thoughtfully prepared to accommodate any dietary requirements. Jaine's extra touches definitely made the stay a special one - would recommend to anyone hiking the three peaks and we would stay again.

    — Lauren & Matt, 23 Jul 2018
  • Spotlessly clean, great place to stay. Would highly recommend and will be staying again.

    — Johnathan, 20 Jul 2018
  • Beautiful cottage with a mixture of old charm and modern convenience. Exceptionally well equipped and immaculate. Lovely welcome hamper - Thank you so much!

    — Alan & Carole - Newcastle, 20 Jul 2018
  • Been visiting Ingleton for many years. So pleased to find this cottage, far enough out of the village to avoid crowds and lack of parking, but close enough to walk into Ingleton etc. Falls walk very dry this week but nice to see it different. Took lots of photos.

    — Anita & Andrew - Sheffield, 12 Jul 2018
  • Couldn't keep us away!! Had a great Christmas and summer was brilliant too! Tried 'the Punch Bowl' in Burton - great food. Found the Glacial rock near Bentham - great views. We enjoyed lots of walking again. Hope we can squeeze another trip in before the year end.

    — Michael, James & Heidi, 21 Jun 2018
  • Thank you Jaine and Dave for letting us share your wonderful cottage. It's absolutely fabulous. The welcome basket was amazing!! You have thought of everything possible to make it home from home. Hamish adored all the climbing and walking,we all had fantastic night sleeps. We lit the woodburner (so cosy) because of the rain. Dave, I managed to keep within the 'sliver bar' :) Will recommend.

    TripAdvisor review:
    Penny is a wonderful cottage with amazing views. Jaine and Dave made us very welcome and had provided every comfort to make our stay very relaxing.Their welcome basket was out of this world ,even included treats for our dog. Ingleton Falls and Malham Cove are fantastic places to visit and dogs are made welcome in lots of tearooms and pubs. A lovely weekend spent in a very special place.

    — Angie, Rex and Hamish - Lincolnshire, 18 Jun 2018
  • The owner had put in so much effort to make my stay enjoyable and comfortable, and it was. Communications was great and the welcome basket was so very thoughtful. The property is beautiful and excellently equipped with everything that could possibly be required. I really loved the cottage.

    — Kimberley - Germany, 04 Jun 2018
  • A truly wonderful stay, a beautiful cottage in a beautiful location and a welcome goody basket really topped off our stay.

    Heather & Martyn Airbnb : A gorgeous little cottage in a stunning location. A short walk to the nearest pub and ideally located for walking adventures. A really lovely host who definitely went the extra mile. A place we will be back to visit ourselves and be recommending to friends.

    — Heather & Martyn - York , 07 May 2018
  • Only just arrived and we are overwhelmed by the welcome. Everything we could want. Lovely cottage, thanks to Jaine and Dave.

    Sadly off home now! Had a lovely break in this cosy cottage for two. Beautiful place x

    — Gill, Phil & Yogi - Nottingham, 16 Apr 2018
  • Penny black is a gorgeous cottage. It’s been beautifully done out and there are lots of thoughtful touches added by the host. It’s very cosy and we very much enjoyed snuggling up in front of the fire after a hard days walking. It’s in a great location for exploring the dales, with lots of lovely walks right on your doorstep (with some great pubs en route). The local farm shop sells the most amazing food (and cakes!) to fuel up on. We only stayed a few days but I wish we’d stayed longer.

    — Kelly, Rob & Jasper - York, 10 Apr 2018
  • Lovely stay for a weekend break to walk the peaks. Fabulous gift box on arrival, lovely little cottage, we had a great time. thank you

    — Natalie and Robert - Cumbria, 04 Apr 2018
  • A great place to stay on the edge of the dales. Cottage has everything you need and close to Ingleton. Jaine and Dave were great hosts providing individual touches like a welcome basket and having the basics already in the fridge. Plus a bottle of wine. Great if you're arriving late. Would heartily recommend.

    — Peter & Liz - Manchester, 28 Dec 2017
  • Fabulous place to spend our first Christmas. Loved the log burner. Welcome pack a wonderful surprise. Lovely rural spot with great walks. Recommend the Wheatsheaf. Looking forward to the summer!

    — James, Michael & Heidi - Newcastle Upon Tyne, 27 Dec 2017
  • Really wonderful stay - Cottage is so cosy. Great base for exploring the dales (Caves, Waterfalls, Walking....) Thank you!!

    — Lucy & Alex - Manchester , 28 Oct 2017
  • Fantastic little cottage with everything we needed for a quiet weekend away. Close to stunning walks and only a 20 minute walk from the pub! Jaine gave us lots of hints and tips about the surrounding area which were very helpful, she was so welcoming on our arrival and also left us a very tasty hamper of treats! The cottage itself is the perfect place to chill after a long muddy day in the rain, and has all the amenities you would want. We'll definitely be booking up again!

    — Nicola & Richard - Newcastle Upon Tyne (Airbnb), 23 Oct 2017
  • Having been 'cottaging' for the last 26 years, Penny Black is one of the best we've stayed in - we've already booked again!

    — John & Maria - Nottingham, 16 Oct 2017
  • Lovely little cottage, well equipped and beautifully presented. Had a restful stay. Thank you.

    — Sue, Maggie & Louis - Lancashire, 01 Oct 2017
  • My friend and I were lucky to book this gorgeous cottage at short notice (after being let down by my nearby regular holiday cottage owner due to double booking). Jaine was so accommodating and I feel we've found a real gem, fell in love with it and I have booked it for my honeymoon next year.

    — Rachel & Kerry - Buxton, Derbyshire., 25 Sep 2017
  • Thank you for ensuring a comfortable stay, we appreciate your careful attention to every detail - a beautifully clean and comfortable little cottage.

    — Rebecca, Rob & Cindy - Leyland, Lancashire., 18 Sep 2017
  • Lovely cottage - great to come back to after a day's walk. Everything thought of. Brilliant walk - Ingleton Waterfalls.

    — Terry & Quita - Norfolk, 15 Sep 2017
  • Penny is the nicest little getaway - very homely and warm with the log burning fire, absolutely fab. Jaine and Dave were very welcoming, especially when we got lost en route (we're not the best with the sat nav). They even treated us to a hamper full of goodies and card + wine in celebration of our silver wedding anniversary.

    — Olivia - Liverpool, 11 Sep 2017
  • Cutest and cosiest cottage ever and a big thank you for making our Silver Wedding a wonderful stay. Jaine and Dave you are exceptionally lovely people. No half measures with you two. Many thanks again. We will be back.

    — Tracy & John - Southport, 08 Sep 2017
  • This is a very special, high quality cottage with open views across farmland. Although it backs onto a busy road, there is no traffic noise once inside. Our host had thought of everything a guest might need: lovely toiletries and local, organic goodies for us to enjoy, which were very much appreciated after our 5hr journey! The cottage was spotless, beautifully decorated, small but perfectly formed! My daughter and I loved it and have no hesitation in highly recommending this property.

    — Jeanette - Via Airbnb, 04 Sep 2017
  • Wonderful cottage, the perfect base for The Dales. Beautifully decorated and well equipped. Enjoyed the waterfall walk and The Marton Arms. We're sad to leave!

    — Jeanette, Grace & Nellie - Bath, 03 Sep 2017
  • Cutest little cottage, had a very relaxing break. The food @ The Red Dragon in Kirkby Lonsdale is a must! We will be back :)

    — Claire & James - Leeds, 30 Aug 2017
  • Amazing cosy cottage equipped with love. It is wonderful how you have breathed life into it. It is really hard to leave. P, P and A - Prague.

    — Petr, Patricie and Adrian - Prague, 27 Aug 2017
  • Cosy wee cottage! Great walks nearby! Had a fantastic time!

    — Jack, Karolina & Ben - Glasgow, 23 Aug 2017
  • Beautiful Cottage - everything we needed for a delightful stay - a truly enjoyable holiday.

    — Peter & Deborah - Lincolnshire, 18 Aug 2017
  • Delightful little cottage. Everything we needed + more. Lovely area - waterfalls walk is a must.

    — Rebecca - Lincolnshire, 08 Aug 2017
  • Our stay at Jaine's was fabulous. Penny Black Cottage is really well equipped, quaint and very cute. The views from the garden and the bedroom are superb. Jaine was a great host, very helpful before and during our stay and left us a few little treats to welcome us. Ingleton is about 1 mile down the road and a lovely little village. The waterfalls walk was a lot of fun even in the rain! I would definitely recommend staying at Jaine's cottage and going off exploring the surrounding countryside during the day. Rebecca (Airbnb)

    — Rebecca - Lincolnshire, 08 Aug 2017

Highlights

  • 1 King size bed, log burner, private off road parking, log burner, wifi, dog friendly.

Location


Superhost
in Thornton in Lonsdale


Superhost
in Thornton in Lonsdale



Current Weather

Current Weather
6°c
Clear